Finalists announced for 2020 Bed Industry Awards


The National Bed Federation (NBF) has announced its finalists for the 2020 Bed Industry Awards.

In all, 23 bed manufacturers, suppliers and retailers have made it onto the finalists list and are competing for the top accolades. The NBF awards aim to showcase the best in class across categories which range from individual products or ranges to a company’s approach to sustainability.

“We are delighted to announce the finalists in our annual awards,” said Simon Williams, NBF marketing manager for the NBF, and awards co-ordinator. “It’s been an incredibly challenging year for manufacturers, suppliers and retailers alike, so it has been heartening to see that despite it all, companies have continued to innovate, improve and inspire their customers.

“The standard of entries this year has been extremely high so selecting a short list of finalists has been a challenge for our judging panels and it’s a tremendous honour to make it this far. The judges now have another difficult task ahead in selecting the ultimate winner in each category.”

The winners will be announced at our online award ceremony which will be livestreamed on the NBF’s YouTube channel at 4pm on 26th November.

The finalists are:
Bed of the Year, sponsored by John Cotton Non Wovens Division
Harrison Spinks – Velocity 8750 mattress
Hypnos – Orthos Origins range
Jaybe – Benchmark mattress range
Sleepeezee – Jessica bed

Component Product/Machinery of the Year, sponsored by CPS Group
Boyteks VGuard ticking
Enkev’s GOTS range of fillings
Handy’s Tuft Length Adjustor
Kaymed’s IGel Advance Foam

The judges for the product awards are: Steve Adams (Mattress Online); Jerry Cheshire (Surrey Beds); Paul Farley (Furniture News); Paul Stott (The Virtual Works).

Online Bed Retailer of the Year, sponsored by The Vita Group
Land of Beds
Mattress Online

Large Bed Retailer of the Year, sponsored by Sleepeezee
Furniture Village
John Lewis
Sussex Beds

Small Bed Retailer of the Year, sponsored by Hypnos
Now to Bed
Peter Betteridge Furnishing Ltd
Prestige Beds
The Winchester Bed Company

The judges for the retailer awards are: Richard de Melim (Furnishing Report); Andrew Kidd (Interiors Monthly); Dan Squires (Inside Furniture); Bernard Eaton (Greenwood Retail).

Sustainability Award, sponsored by Zero Waste Scotland
Bekaert Deslee
Harrison Spinks

The judges for the sustainability award are:- David Fitzsimons (Oakdene Hollins); Izzie Eriksen (Zero Waste Scotland); Mark Allison (FIRA).

Covid 19 Community Champion Award, sponsored by Furniture Village
John Cotton
Millbrook Beds
The Vita Group

The Judges for the Community Champion award are:- David Woodward (Master of the WCFM); John Hancock, CBE (former MD of Sealy UK and Past President of the NBF 1998-2000).

Related Posts


The National Bed Federation is the recognised trade association representing UK manufacturers of beds and their suppliers. Founded in 1912, its members today account for about 75% of the total UK bedding turnover

Annual Report & Accounts

For the year ending December 2022

NBF Green

Our Goal: 75% of new mattress sales diverted from landfill by 2028.

For Members



NBF Members List

Our member directory is a list of current NBF members with contact details and their certificate number.

Product Search

A database of National Bed Federation members to help you search for either finished or component products.


Get the latest Industry News. Members News articles are only available to NBF members who are logged in to the website.

Newsletter Archive