The National Bed Federation (NBF) has announced the categories for the 2020 bed industry ‘Oscars’ – including a one-off award for the COVID 19 Community Champion.

Now in their 11th year, winners of the prestigious awards – usually presented at the annual Bed Show gala dinner in September – will this year be announced in a live ‘virtual ceremony’ on 26 November.

Launching the awards, NBF executive director Jessica Alexander said: “The show itself may have been cancelled because of the Coronavirus pandemic but new developments in product innovation and sustainability continue.

“We thought long and hard about this year’s awards and feel they have become such an important and motivating part of the industry year that it was critical they should go ahead, albeit in a way that reflects the extraordinary nature of the year.”

This year’s categories are as follows:

Three product-based manufacturer/supplier awards (these are open to NBF members only):

  • Bed of the Year
  • Accessory Product of the Year (including headboards, pillows, toppers, mattress protectors etc)
  • Component Product/Machine of the Year (the machinery element is new for 2020)

Three Retailer of the Year awards:

  • Small Bed Retailer of the Year (less than 10 stores)
  • Large Bed Retailer of the Year (10 or more stores)
  • Online Bed Retailer of the Year (at least 80% of sales via internet)

Two general category awards  for both NBF members and retailers  – for businesses not individuals:

  • Sustainability Award – for the most significant contribution/innovation in sustainability
  • COVID-19 Community Champion Award – for the business deemed to have made the greatest contribution to supporting the country during the pandemic

The awards are open for entry now with the deadline for submissions being 5pm Friday October 16.

This year’s judges are:

Manufacturing awards – Steve Adams (Mattress Online); Jerry Cheshire (Surrey Beds); Paul Farley (Furniture News); Paul Stott (The Virtual Works).

Retailer awards – Richard de Melim (Furnishing Report); Andrew Kidd (Interiors Monthly); Dan Squires (Inside Furniture); Bernard Eaton (Greenwood Retail).

Sustainability award – David Fitzsimons (Oakdene Hollins); Izzie Eriksen (Zero Waste Scotland).

COVID 19 Community Award – David Woodward (Master of the WCFM); John Hancock (former MD of Sealy UK and Past President of the NBF 1998-2000).

Click here to find all the details and application forms 

Related Posts


The National Bed Federation is the recognised trade association representing UK manufacturers of beds and their suppliers. Founded in 1912, its members today account for about 75% of the total UK bedding turnover

Annual Report & Accounts

For the year ending December 2022

NBF Green

Our Goal: 75% of new mattress sales diverted from landfill by 2028.

For Members



NBF Members List

Our member directory is a list of current NBF members with contact details and their certificate number.

Product Search

A database of National Bed Federation members to help you search for either finished or component products.


Get the latest Industry News. Members News articles are only available to NBF members who are logged in to the website.

NBF Announces 2024 Bed Industry Awards Categories

NBF Announces 2024 Bed Industry Awards Categories

The National Bed Federation (NBF) has announced the eight categories for its highly anticipated Bed Industry Awards for 2024, honouring the brightest and best enterprises in the bed market. The awards showcase the very best in inspiration, design and innovation among...

Newsletter Archive